Syncplicity Support

Follow

SyncDrive for IT

What is SyncDrive?

Syncplicity SyncDrive provides access to all your Syncplicity content without the need to sync it all to the desktop first. All your Syncplicity content is visible so you can easily find the documents you need to work productively. When you access a document for the first time it, it streams seamlessly to your desktop. SyncDrive caches your most recently accessed documents so that they are available when you need them.

SyncDrive allows you to favorite specific files and folders to ensure that you always have them available even when you are offline.
 
SyncDrive is part of Syncplicity version 5.1+ and is available on Windows 7 (64-bit), Windows 8.1 (64-bit) or Windows 10 (64-bit). 

Installing the Windows Desktop Client with SyncDrive

There are a few command-line installation options for SyncDrive in addition to existing command-line options. See Deploying the desktop clients article for more information on distributing Syncplicity at your organization.

Option

Meaning

Example

SYNCPDRIVE

Flag to enable or disable feature. SyncDrive is installed by default unless this option, with a value of 0, is specified.

SYNCPDRIVE=0 (disable SyncDrive)

SYNCPDRIVELETTER

Default drive letter to use for SyncDrive. If not specified, then drive S: will be configured.

SYNCPDRIVELETTER=M

SYNCPDRIVECACHESIZE

Default size of SyncDrive cache in GB. If not specified a default cache size of 3 GB will be configured.

SYNCPDRIVECACHESIZE=4 (cache size = 4GB)

SYNCDRIVECACHESIZECONTROL

Can the end user control the SyncDrive cache size themselves. By default users can control cache size.

SYNCDRIVECACHESIZECONTROL=0

If this parameter is set to 0, then user may not change cache size

Converting folders to SyncDrive

Users can convert their own folders to SyncDrive, this is described in the article SyncDrive for users.

You can also convert any folder within your company to SyncDrive. This is particularly useful if you are migrating network file shares, large group shares or users network home directories to Syncplicity.

You can use the enhanced folders report to find which folders should be converted to SyncDrive based on their size. The participants of a folder are maintained when the folder is converted to SyncDrive.

To convert a Syncplicity folder to SyncDrive you should:

  1. In the navigation bar, click admin and then click folders
  2. Search for the folder using the Filter by Folder Name/Owner search.Filter_by_Folder_Name.png
  3. Click the folder name to display Manage Folder Properties page.Manage_Folder_Properties_2.png
  4. Select the “Allow access to this folder only in SyncDrive on the desktop” check box as shown above.
    It is important to note that conversion of a folder to SyncDrive will unmap the folder for existing participants who have previously mapped it locally. Any unsynced changes present in participants mapped folders will be lost when the folder is converted to SyncDrive. Users will now need to go to SyncDrive to continue working with their files. Depending on the company policy for Remote Wipe the previously mapped file will either remain on disk or be removed. Participants will receive an email notifying them that the access to this folder has been changed and will now be available in SyncDrive.

  5. Select the Yes check box, to confirm the conversion of the folder to SyncDrive.
  6. Click Yes, CHANGE TO SYNCDRIVE
  7. In the Manage Folder Properties page, click “SAVE” to confirm the changes.

Converting SyncDrive Folder back to a Normal Folder

To convert the SyncDrive back to normal folder, an administrator should perform the following steps:

  1. In the navigation bar, click Admin and then click Folders
  2. Search for the folder in Filter by Folder Name/Owner box
  3. Deselect the "Allow access to this folder only in SyncDrive on the desktop" checkbox
  4. Select the Yes check box, to confirm the access from SyncDrive.
  5. Click Yes, REMOVE FROM SYNCDRIVE

Administrative Reporting

To assist the administrator, the Manage Folders page contains a Folder Report. This report allows the administrator to view details of all folders in the company.

To download the report, follow the steps below:

  1. Log on to Syncplicity with administrator credentials. https://my.syncplicity.com/.
  2. In the navigation bar, click Admin and then click Folders
  3. Click the Download in CSV file A CSV file gets downloaded into the local folder, which displays the details as shown in the Table 2 below.

Folder Report Details

Column Header

Description

Folder Name

Name of the folder.

Owner

The name of the folder owner.

Shared

Is it Shared folder or Private folder.

Shared With

Name of the user(s) and Groups with whom the folder is shared.

Re-sharing

Is the resharing Restricted or available for All.

Re-share Participants

List of participants who can reshare the folder.

StorageVault

Name of the StorageVault where the folder is located.

Folder Type

Type of folder (Standard, Desktop, Documents, Favorites, Music, Pictures or SyncDrive).

Folder Size

Size of the folder.

Administrative Best practices

When large file shares are migrated into Syncplicity it is recommended to first convert the folders to SyncDrive before sharing the folders with participants.

It is recommended not to run anti-virus software on the SyncDrive as this will trigger the download of all file content contained in SyncDrive folders. Most modern anti-virus applications have an option to disable scanning of network drives.

Powered by Zendesk