Syncplicity Support

Follow

Managing shared links

You can view the list of shared links that you generated and the list of links that were shared with you. Click shared links in the top navigation menu then click sent to view the links you shared or received to view the links shared with you.

Both pages provide a search capability where you can search by file name.

Managing the links you shared

The Sent page shows all the files you have shared with others. The information includes the filename, the names of the users that you sent the link, when you shared the file, time before the link expires (if at all), and the number of times the file has been downloaded. You can click on each column to sort the list of shared links by that property.

Optionally, you can view expired links by clicking . Hover over the word, Expired, to see the date the link expired.

If there are a large number of links, use the search function to find a specific link.

The filename column also indicates if you password protected the link or protected the file using the secure shared file feature.

If there is more than one person in the To column, hover over the number of people to see the user names. 

Hover over the Expiration time to see the date the link is due to expire.

When you select a file, a task bar is shown.

You can perform the following tasks:

  • Click the file name to download or preview it.
  • Click Tracking to view how many times the file has been downloaded and by whom. There is no tracking information until the file has been downloaded at least once.
  • Copy the link, which copies the URL to your clipboard. From there, you can send the link to someone else.
  • For password protected files, you can reset the password given to the group of users. This disables the previous password and enforces the new password immediately.
  • Disable the link to prevent any further downloads of the file. If your file is a secured shared file, the file itself is no longer accessible by users, even if the file has been downloaded.
  • For protected files, edit the secure shared file protection settings. For information about the settings, see About Shared Links and Secure Shared Files.

Managing the links shared with you

The Received page shows all the links that others have shared with you specifically as an intended recipient. This page also shows those public links that you have accessed and download the file while you were logged in to your Syncplicity account. Those public links that you accessed while not logged in are not shown.

The information for each shared link includes the filename, owner, when the file was shared, and the link expiration date (if any).

Optionally, you can view expired links by clicking . Hover over the word, Expired, to see the date the link expired.

If there are a large number of links, use the search function to find a specific link.

Files can be password protected, a protected file, or both. A password protected file requires you to enter the password provided by the owner before you can access the file. A protected file is a secure shared file, as described in About Shared Links and Secure Shared Files.

When you select a file, a task bar is shown.

You can perform the following tasks:

  • Click the file name to download or preview it, or select one file and click the Download menu item.
    • If it is a password-protected file, you are prompted for the password. If you do not know the password, click the Request password link which automatically emails the owner with your request.
    • If for any reason you want to ask for more information about the file, click contact owner in the task bar or click the owner’s name to open the Contact Sender dialog. This allows you to send an email to the owner and ask for additional information.
  • Copy the link, which copies the URL to your clipboard. From there, you can send the link to someone else.
  • Remove the link, which deletes the link from your Received list. You no longer see the link in your received links list, but you still have access to the link if you have saved the URL somewhere else.
Powered by Zendesk