Syncplicity Support

Follow

Sharing a folder

Syncplicity allows sharing of the top-level folders only in iPad. The option to share exists in the contextual menu of the folder and in the drop-down bar options inside the folder. Tap on the () icon to bring up the contextual menu.

The sharing of a folder can be divided into two main areas: sharing of a folder with new users, and managing the existing users of the shared folder.

Sharing a Folder

You can share a folder with any user in Syncplicity. To share a folder, select Share from the context menu or drop-down bar. A drawer displays from the left as shown in the screenshot below.

You can enter any email address by typing the email in the Email Address field or by selecting one or more email addresses from the address book. The address book comes up on selecting the + icon shown below. The address book contains the email addresses from your Syncplicity account and also email addresses from the local iPad address book. As you select or type one or more email addresses, the Invite option shows the number of email addresses entered. The app also has the type-ahead capability to match users when you start typing in the Email Address field. The email address entered has to be a valid email address.

You can enter any message for the shared users in the Message field. When you share a folder, an email goes to the recipients you entered along with the message. 

You can share a folder with editor or reader rights. If you are an owner of a folder or have editor rights, you can share the folder with other users who have editor or reader rights. If you are a reader, you can only re-share the folder with reader rights. So, if you are a reader on a top-level folder, you would see only the Reader tab in the figure below when you try to re-share.

Managing Participants

You can also manage the participants of a shared folder. This means you can remove a user from the existing list of participants or change the permissions of a user from editor to reader or vice versa depending on your rights.

If you are an owner, you can remove any participant at any time. Similarly, as an owner, you can change the permission of any existing user from editor to reader or vice versa.

If you are an editor, you can only remove or change permissions of those users whom you have added to this folder. If you are a reader, you can share with others only as a reader and cannot change permissions. However, you can remove users whom you have added.

The figure below shows the list of participants for a shared folder. You can see who has reader or editor permissions for this shared folder by selecting the respective tabs. Selecting Remove removes the user from the list of shared participants for this folder.

 

In addition, the figure below shows how to change the permission of an existing user from editor to reader. The user below is an editor as shown in blue and selecting the Reader option changes the permission of the user to Reader for this shared folder.

Folder Sharing Policies

Sharing of folders respects all the administrator policies on folder sharing. Currently, there are two folder sharing policies.

  • Folder sharing policy, which determines whether a top-level folder can be shared externally or not. If folder sharing is prohibited externally by the administrator, you can only share with users within your Syncplicity company account.
  • External user folder re-sharing policy, which determines whether you can re-share a folder at all or not, or only re-share the folder as an editor. If you do not have the permission to re-share a folder, you cannot manage participants for that folder.
Powered by Zendesk