Syncplicity Support

Follow

About favorites

Favoriting of files and folders is a key functionality of the Syncplicity iPad app. You can favorite any file, top-level folder or a subfolder. Once you mark a folder or file as a favorite, the content is synced locally to your device so that you can quickly access it, even when offline. You can interact with these files just like any other file; however, as they are always stored on the device, there is never any worry about having to download the file while on the go. Favorited content is continuously synced when the app is actively running either in foreground or background (not suspended in background) and the iPad is connected to the network.

Since large folders and files can take a lot of space, as well as time to download, you should only favorite those folders and files that you wish to access quickly.

To favorite a file or a folder, tap the context menu () of a file or a folder and then tap Favorite. Once a file or folder is favorited, you see a red star icon on the top right of the file or folder as shown below. The Favorite context menu also shows filled. For example, the figure below shows that the Analyst Relations folder has been favorited.

Similarly, the figure below shows that the Press Release file has been favorited.

Once a folder or a file is favorited, the content is synced locally. It may take a lot of time to favorite a folder or a file depending on the size of the folder or the file. All the favorited files and folders are shown in one place in the Favorites view. 

If a folder is favorited, all subfolders or files inside are shown by a green checkmark indicating that the content is synced. For example, the Marketing folder has been favorited, so all folders and files inside are shown by a green checkmark indicating the content is synced. But since Analyst Relations has been favorited separately, only that folder is shown with a star icon.

 

NOTE: If you are using the Syncplicity app on a MobileIron managed device, the favorites are not synced unless the Syncplicity app is in the foreground. You should open the Syncplicity app before going offline to make sure your favorites are in sync.

Powered by Zendesk