The My Syncplicity web application allows you to perform the following actions on files:
- Share link: This is discussed in the Sharing a file article.
- Delete: This includes viewing deleted files, restoring deleted files, and permanently deleting files.
To view files from My Syncplicity, click on files at the top navigation page then click on the files submenu. Except for upload, you can access the file actions by right clicking on a file or by selecting the show edit mode icon, then checking the box next to the file, as shown below.
The My Syncplicity web application allows you to upload almost any file from your computer to Syncplicity. When uploading files, be sure to first navigate to the folder where you wish to upload the files. For Enterprise Edition and Business Edition users, your administrator may restrict specific types of files from being uploaded.
Click on the Upload selection at the top of the Files page when you want to upload one or more files. This opens the native file browser window on your computer.
Select one or more files you would like to upload from your computer and click on the Choose button on the window. The upload progress window shows the progress of each of the files being uploaded. Once the upload is completed for a file, you will notice a checkmark next to the file name.
TIP: If your browser allows, you can upload a file by dragging and dropping it from your Windows Explorer to the Files page.
NOTE: Any trailing spaces in file or folder names are truncated. Also, you cannot upload files with file names that contain the following characters: \ / | : * " ? < >
When you click on a file icon or file name it downloads a copy of the file onto your computer.
The versions option provides the details on the current and previous file versions along with details on who performed the update, when it was updated and the file size for each version.
Every time a file is added, re-uploaded, edited, deleted or restored, a new version of the file is created, and the size, timestamp and the user taking the action is recorded. You can open and view any version of a file and revert to any of the older versions. Click on versions in the context menu to see the list of versions for a file.
If you wish to ignore the changes in one or more versions of a file, you can choose to have an older version be the current version. Select the version then click Restore. A new, current version is created which is the same as the version you selected.
When a file is deleted, it is marked as a deleted file; however, it is still available for restoring in case users need to access deleted content. Note that you can delete only those files in folders where you are the owner or have editor rights.
You can turn on or off the deleted files view by clicking the icon below in the files section of the My Syncplicity web application. When enabled, you can view all of the folders and files marked for deletion.
Since the deleted folder or file is not permanently deleted, you can select the particular folder or file and restore it or download the file. Downloading the file allows you to download a copy of the file on your computer. The restore option marks the file as restored.Note that deleted folders and files are grayed out and marked as Deleted.
If you wish to permanently remove files from Syncplicity, select the permanently delete option to delete it permanently. This action is not reversible and should only be performed when you are certain you wish this action to be permanent.