Syncplicity Support

Follow

Sharing a file

You can share your files with others using the shared link feature. A shared link is a URL that recipients can click to open the file location in a web browser.

You can create a public shared link, which is accessible to anyone who has the URL, or you can create a secured shared link where you can restrict who accesses the file. If you have the Personal Edition, you can create public shared links only.

Creating a public shared link

To share a file using a public link:

  1. Tap the context menu on the file you wish to share. This opens the context menu, as shown below.


  2. Tap the Share Link option.


  3. If you wish to email the link, choose Email Shared Link. This action prompts you to enter your recipients’ email addresses. You can also enter text below the address box. The text is included in the email along with the generated link.


  4. If you do not wish to email the link from Syncplicity, choose Copy Shared Link. This action generates a URL, which you can paste into an e-mail, instant message, web page, or any other place where you can place a text web link.

Creating a secured shared link

You may be able to create a secured or public shared link, depending on the policies set by your administrator. An administrator can implement any one, all or none of the following:

  • Require recipients to log in. In this case, you are required to enter the email addresses of those recipients you wish to access the file. Only those recipients can log in and access the file.

  • Require recipients to enter a password. In this case, you are required to enter a password (or accept a generated password) which you must then communicate to your recipients. Each recipient is then prompted for the password when accessing the file.

  • Set an expiration date. There is no action for you to take. If your administrator set an expiration date, you will see a message about the expiration date in the confirmation message after generating the link. An expiration date prevents recipients from accessing the file after a specific number of days.

If your administrator did not set any of these policies, you may still be able to generate a secured shared link by requiring users to log in, enter a password, or both. To create a secured shared link:

  1. Open the context menu of the file and tap the Share Link option, as described in the public shared link procedure above.


  2. If you have the option, determine if you wish to require recipients to log in by tapping the Require recipients to login toggle button. If using this option, enter the recipient email addresses or select the email addresses from your address book by tapping the (+) icon. Optionally, you can enter or edit the text below the address box. The text is included in the email sent to the recipients you list.


  3. If you have the option, determine if you wish to require recipients to enter a password. If using this option, a password is automatically generated and attached as shown below. You can change and enter a different password or use the password generator to generate the password. Password strength indicator indicates whether a password is weak or Strong.
    The password generated does not go with the email. Instead, you need to copy it and send it separately to the recipients. 

  4. Tap Next.


  5. Choose Email Shared Link if you wish to email the link, or choose Copy Shared Link if you do not wish to email the link from your Syncplicity account.

  6. If you chose Email Shared Link, you still see the generated link but it is not automatically copied to the clipboard. However, you can tap the link and open it in a browser or copy it to the clipboard.


  7. If you chose Copy Shared Link, you need to paste the link paste into an e-mail, instant message, web page, or any other place where you can place a text web link.

  8. If you chose to have users enter a password, send the password to your recipients. You can email the password separately, text the password or copy and send the password through other means.

  9. Click Done.

Shared Link Settings

This setting is only applicable to Business Edition and Enterprise Edition users. If the administrator has not set any of the Shared Links policies mentioned earlier and you do not wish to generate secure shared links, you can turn off the Advanced Settings options in Shared Links Settings as described in the App settings article. Once you turn off the Advanced Options, tapping Share Link will not show the options to require recipients to log in or enter a password.

Powered by Zendesk