Syncplicity Support

Follow

Syncing and unsyncing folders and files

Synced folders and their contents are accessible from your other computers and devices using the Syncplicity clients. You can also access your synced folders from the My Syncplicity web site. For more information, see Understanding synchronizing and sharing folders.

You can sync content between your computer and your Syncplicity account, which allows you to share that content with others.

Syncing folders from your computer

To sync a folder on your system, you must add it to your Syncplicity account. To do so, open Windows Explorer and navigate to the folder. Right-click on the folder of your choice and choose Syncplicity then Add to Syncplicity. Syncplicity syncs the folder and overlays a Syncplicity logo on the folder icon to let you know it has been added to your Syncplicity account. All files within the folder are synced to the cloud and available online, except for those files whose type is excluded from syncing.

Files are synced only when in a folder that is synced.

If you have other computers with the Syncplicity client, they will display a dialog box asking if you would like to sync the folder to those computers as well.

NOTE: Any trailing spaces in file or folder names are truncated. Also, you cannot upload files with file names that contain the following characters: \ / | : * " ? < >

Syncing a folder shared with you

When other users share a folder with you, Syncplicity presents a popup that allows you to choose to sync the folder in your Syncplicity account to your desktop, along with the size of the folder. This popup also appears should you create a folder in your Syncplicity account from another device.

  • Sync Now: Click this button to sync the files and folders within this Syncplicity folder to the location on your system that you have selected. You can select a different location using the Change
  • Sync Later: Click this button to have the folder remain in your account but not be synced with your system.

NOTE: You can also sync folders from the Manage Folders window, as described in Working with folders and files.

NOTE: The Syncplicity client does not support syncing to mapped network drives, external storage devices and removable storage devices. For more information, see About file synchronization on external drives.

Discontinue syncing

To stop syncing a top level folder, right-click on the folder and choose Syncplicity then Stop synchronization. Your folder is no longer synced to your account, and the Syncplicity logo is removed from the folder icon. The folder will remain on your local computer.

NOTE: You can also stop syncing folders using the Manage Folders window, as described in Working with folders and files.

Selective sync /Exclusions

Sometimes it can be useful to sync a folder, but to exclude some items within that folder from syncing.

To exclude a file or a subfolder from syncing, right-click on the file or folder and choose Syncplicity then Exclude. If excluding a file, you are asked if you want to exclude this specific file or all files of that file type. Once done, your file or folder is no longer synced to your account and the Syncplicity logo is removed from the file or folder icon.

You can also exclude subfolders using the "More options…" dropdown in the Manage Folders window, as described in Working with folders and files.

NOTE: The Syncplicity client does not support syncing mapped network drives, external storage devices and removable storage devices. Should you attempt to sync a folder from an unsupported location, the app informs you and prevents the sync. For more information, see About file synchronization on external drives.

Powered by Zendesk