Syncplicity Support

Follow

Sharing a file

You can share your files with others using the shared link feature. A shared link is a URL that users can click to open the location of the file in a web browser.

You can create a public shared link, which is accessible to anyone who has the URL, or you can create a secured shared link where you can restrict who accesses the file. With a secured shared link, you can track who downloaded your files and when. If you have the Syncplicity Public Edition, you can create public shared links only.

Shared links are kept up-to-date, so if your file changes later, people who download the file via the shared link will get the latest version.

Creating a public shared link

To create a public shared link, simply do not apply protection. Depending on your configuration, you may not see the option to apply protection. In other cases, your administrator may require you to apply protection.

To create a public shared link, perform the following:

  1. Navigate to the file in your Finder window.
  2. Control-click on the file.
  3. In the menu, click Share then Share with Syncplicity. You may need to click More at the end of the menu to see Share with Syncplicity.

NOTE: If you have an earlier release of the Mac operating system, you may see Syncplicity in the menu. In this case, click Syncplicity then click Share Link: “File Link”.

  1. Choose to copy the link or email the link.

If you choose to copy the link, the URL is copied to your clipboard. From there, you can paste it into an e-mail, instant message, web page, or any other place where you can place a text web link.

If you choose to email the link, you are prompted to email the link to the people you wish to share your file.

Anybody who clicks this link can retrieve your file quickly and easily.

Creating a secured shared link

To create a secured shared link, you must require users to log in to their Syncplicity account, enter a password, or both to access the file. You also have the option to set an expiration date, after which the link is invalid and users cannot access the file. Your administrator may require one or more of these settings.

To create a secured shared link, perform the following:

  1. Navigate to the file in your Finder window.
  2. Control-click on the file.
  3. In the menu, click Share then Share with Syncplicity. You may need to click More at the end of the menu to see Share with Syncplicity.
    NOTE: If you have an earlier release of the Mac operating system, you may see Syncplicity in the menu. In this case, click Syncplicity then click Share Link: “File Link”.
  4. Expand Apply protection.
                  
  5. If requiring users to log in, check Require recipients to login then enter or select email addresses and enter text for the email that will be sent to recipients. When done, your text and the shared link are sent to those users. Only users with the email addresses you specified can log in and download the file.
  6. If requiring users to enter a password, check Require recipients to enter a password then click the password generator icon to create a password. You can then communicate this password to the users you wish to access the file. The password generated is not sent with the email; therefore, you need to send it separately to the recipients.
  7. If setting an expiration time, check Set expiration then enter the number of days that the recipients can access the file using the shared link. After that time, the link will become invalid.
    NOTE: If your administrator set an expiration date for shared links, you can set a shorter expiration date but not a longer one.
  8. If you wish to email the link, click Email link. This action prompts you to enter your recipients’ email addresses. You can also enter text for the email, which is then sent to those users along with the generated link.
  9. If you wish to generate a link, click Copy Link. This action generates a URL, which you can paste into an e-mail, instant message, web page, or any other place where you can place a text web link.

NOTE: If your administrator had set an expiration date for shared links, the link becomes invalid after that time.

TIP: If you never use the apply protection settings, you can turn them off so they do not show, as described in the Configuring client settings article. The result is that you are not prompted for those options when sharing files and folders. However, your administrator may override those settings.

Powered by Zendesk