Syncplicity Support

Follow

Configuring client settings

You can configure the following Mac client settings:

  • Show the secure shared link options when creating a shared link. This includes requiring recipients to log in or enter a password to access the shared link. If you uncheck this box, these options are not shown when sharing a file link with another user.
  • Show a message whenever a file from the Syncplicity account is downloaded. Checking this box hides these notifications.
  • Unlink, which removes all your mapped folders and machine name. Unlinking is not advisable unless you want to log in using a different account or want to remove Syncplicity from your computer. If you unlink then decide to rejoin, you will need to log in, reinstall the Syncplicity client and remap your folders again. The Unlink this computer button is grayed out if the client is busy scanning or uploading/downloading files. You can wait until the process is finished, or open the Taskbar Panel to pause the process before you can unlink the computer. 
  • Exclude file types from synchronizing. You can choose which types of files to exclude from synchronization, using the file name extension. These files can be executables, javascript, text files, or any other file type. Your administrator may have also excluded certain types of files in addition to your settings. You cannot change the exclusions added by your administrator. 
  • Network bandwidth when uploading or downloading files. You can limit the bandwidth usage to avoid having the Syncplicity app use too much of your available network bandwidth. If you wish to limit bandwidth, click the checkbox in Bandwidth usage then enter the maximum upload and download speeds to use. NOTE: Your administrator may have configured bandwidth restrictions. In this case, you cannot enter a speed larger than what the administrator has set, but you can set a lower speed.

To open the Syncplicity taskbar, click the Syncplicity icon () in the Mac taskbar. If the Syncplicity icon is not there, go to your Applications and start Syncplicity. In the Syncplicity menu, click Preferences. The General tab allows you to configure the shared link settings and notifications settings.

The Advanced tab allows you to configure excluded file types and bandwidth usage.

If you wish to exclude file types, click the (+) button then enter the files types by their file name extensions. For example, exe, js, mov, etc. To stop a file type from being excluded, select the file name extension in the tab then click the (-) button.

NOTE: Your administrator may have excluded specific file types. You can exclude additional file types but you cannot change the administrator’s exclusions.

Powered by Zendesk