Syncplicity Support

Follow

Excluding folders and files

You can exclude a synchronized folder or a specific subfolder, file, or file type.

Excluding a top-level folder

For a top-level folder, click on the Syncplicity icon then select Folders Owned by Me or Folders Owned by others, depending on the folder you wish to exclude.

Click on the folder you wish to exclude. In the resulting dialog, click Stop Synchronizing. After a moment, you see a confirmation message that the folder is no longer being synchronized.

NOTE: Click Delete if you also wish to delete the folder from your Syncplicity account. The folder is not deleted from any of your computers. If you are an owner of this folder, deleting the folder also deletes it for other users the folder has been shared with. If you are an editor or reader, the folder is not deleted for them.

Excluding a subfolder

To exclude a subfolder within a synchronized folder, open Finder and browse to the folder you want to exclude. Ctrl+click on the folder, click on Exclude Folder. In the confirmation message, click Exclude to no longer synchronize the folder.

NOTE: If you have an earlier release of the Mac operating system, you may see Syncplicity in the menu. In this case, click Syncplicity then click Exclude Folder.

Excluding a file or a file type

To exclude a file, Ctrl+click the file in Finder, click on Exclude File.

Selecting this menu option displays a popup window with the options to exclude just this file or exclude files of the same type. Choose an option then click Exclude. Once performed, the file or file type is no longer synchronized.

In your desktop client settings, you can also exclude specific file types from being synchronized, such as .exe, .js, .mov, etc. Additionally, your administrator may have excluded specific file types. You can exclude additional file types but you cannot change the administrator’s exclusions. For instructions and more information, see Configuring client settings.

 

Powered by Zendesk