Syncplicity Support


Deleting a folder

You can delete top-level folders and subfolders. However, deleting a top-level folder is different than deleting a subfolder. You can delete folders in two ways, from Finder on your Mac and also from the Syncplicity client.

Deleting top-level folders

Deleting a top-level synchronized folder from Finder on your Mac deletes it from your desktop and moves the folder and its contents to the Trash bin; however, it does not delete it from your Syncplicity account. If you restore the folder from the Trash bin, it is no longer synced with your Syncplicity account but you can re-map the folder to your computer.

Deleting top-level folders using the Syncplicity client stops synchronization and removes the folder from your Syncplicity account. The folder is not deleted from any of your computers. If you are an owner of this folder, deleting the folder also deletes it for other users the folder has been shared with. If you are an editor or reader, the folder is not deleted for them.

See Excluding folders and files for the procedure to delete a top-level folder.

Deleting subfolders

If you delete a synchronized subfolder from Finder on your Mac and you are either the owner or editor, the folder also gets deleted from your Syncplicity account. The deleted subfolder automatically gets placed in the Deleted Items on your Syncplicity account using My Syncplicity. Only the owner has the ability to permanently delete the folder from the Deleted Items.

If you are a reader, the subfolder is not deleted from the Syncplicity account; however, it is no longer synced with your Syncplicity account.

NOTE: If you are an owner or have editor privileges on this deleted folder, deleting the folder from your Syncplicity account also deletes the folder for other users who share the folder.

Powered by Zendesk