Syncplicity Support

Follow

Sharing a folder

Syncplicity currently allows sharing of only the top level folders. The option to share exists in the contextual menu of the folder. Sharing of a folder allows sharing of a folder with new users, managing the existing users of this shared folder or removing all users from the share list.

In order to bring up the options for sharing a folder, from the top level folder navigation, swipe down on the folder you would like to share with others.

The list of options will change based on the different types of folders:

Shared folders owned by you allows for sharing folder with new users, allows for managing existing users and changing their permissions and removing all users from the share list

Shared folders owned by others (with Editor privileges) allows for sharing folder with other users, managing existing users and changing their permissions and removing all users from the share list and removing all users from the share list

Shared folders owned by others (with Reader privileges) allows for sharing folder with other users, managing existing users and changing their permissions and removing all users from the share list. As a reader you can only share folders with Reader permissions to other users

Privately owned by you allows for sharing folder with new user

In the share screen, you should enter email addresses of the users you want to share with. The Windows 8 app provides an easy mechanism to lookup users email addresses as you type ahead. This way you can simply pick the email address from the list, in addition you can also add users from your People App on Windows 8.

Folder Sharing Policies

Sharing of folders follows the administrator policies on folder sharing set by your company administrator

  • If the folder sharing is prohibited externally by the administrator, then you can only share with users within your Syncplicity company account
  • The policy can also determine whether you can re-share a folder at all  or only re-share the folder as an editor. In this case, you will not have the permission to re-share a folder.

 

 

Powered by Zendesk