Syncplicity Support

Follow

Sharing a file

You can share your files with others using the shared link feature. A shared link is a URL that recipients can click to open the file location in a web browser.

You can create a public shared link, which is accessible to anyone who has the URL, or you can create a secured shared link where you can restrict who accesses the file. If you have the Personal Edition, you can create public shared links only and the procedure is slightly different.

Since your administrator can configure the Syncplicity account to meet business needs, you may not see some of the options described here.

If you have the Syncplicity Personal Edition, select the file you want to share (tap and hold then swipe down, or right click) then swipe from the right of edge of your screen and tap share. You can then use your apps, such as email, to send the shared link.

For other editions, perform the following:

1. Select the file you want to share (tap and hold then swipe down, or right click).

2. Click on Shared Link.

3. If the Require recipients to login option is available, you can choose to have users login to the Syncplicity account before accessing the file. Your administrator may have configured the system to require this option. If the recipient does not have an account they will be invited to create one. If you do not select this option the shared link that is generated will be a public link, which means that anyone with the link URL will be able to download the file.

4. Optionally and if available, select Require a password. A password for the shared link is generated for you. You can accept the password, generate a new one by clicking on the icon to the right of the password, or type your own password.

5. Click the NEXT button

6. If requiring users to log in, enter or select email addresses and optionally change the email text. When done, your text and the shared link are sent to those users. Only users with those email addresses can log in and download the file.

7. If requiring users to enter a password, you need to communicate the password to the people you wish to have access to the file.

8. You can choose to have Syncplicity email the file shared link to the recipients or you can copy the link and distribute it yourself. You are also given the opportunity to email or copy the password, if you selected the password option.

Anybody who clicks on the Shared Link will be able to retrieve your file quickly and easily. Shared Links are also kept up-to-date, so if your file changes later on, people who download the file via the Shared Link will get the latest version. 

If the administrator has not set any of the Shared Links policies mentioned earlier and you do not wish to generate secure shared links, you can turn off the Advanced Settings options in Shared Links Settings as described in the App settings article. Once you turn off the Advanced Options, tapping Share Link will not show the options to require recipients to log in or enter a password.

 

Powered by Zendesk