Syncplicity Support

Follow

Managing your company's folders

Administrators have centralized capabilities to be able manage and share all folders included as a part of their Syncplicity account.

To view all folders, log in as an administrator, click admin then folders.

If there is a long list of folders, enter a full or partial folder name in the search field. To refine the search, enter a full or partial name of an owner. You must press Enter or click the search icon to initiate the search.

Click a folder name to view or edit its settings.

At the Policy level IT administrators can selectively control whether folders can be shared with users external to the company or not. Additional safeguards can also be set to ensure that external users cannot re-share folders or invite other users to view the folders.

In the Policy page, select the Security policy. Below the panel, there are two options under the title Folder Sharing Policy:

  • Company users can share folders with users outside of the organization
  • Company users can share folders only amongst themselves.

If you select the option to allow company users to share folders with users outside the organization, you will have to select one of two options under the title External User Add Sharing Participants Policy:

  • Allow external users to view participants and invite new participants to share folders
  • Do not allow external users to view participants and invite new participants to share company owned folders.

When you select the second option to not allow external users to share company owned folders, any attempt to select such a user to re-share a folder results in the system displaying a tool-tip type of message stating “Not permitted to share externally”.

This function will not be allowed even if the owner selects the option to allow everyone on their list to share the folder.

Controls at individual level for sharing folders

Global or Support administrators can control which participants are allowed to re-share a specific folder .

In the Folders section of the Syncplicity Admin functionality, below the list of participants, you can select one of two options under the title “Sharing to others”:

  • Allow everyone
  • Restrict sharing

Select the Restrict sharing option to selectively choose the participants that are allowed to share the folder.

Email notifications

If you select the “Notify owner when people are added” option, when users re-share the folder, you will be sent an email informing you who shared your folder and with whom. A copy of their message to each other will also be in the email notification to you.

You can change the owner of the folder by clicking on the change link next to the owner name near the top.

You can change the permission for each of the shared folders to one of the following. Make sure to click Save to apply your changes.

  • Editor: User or group has read/write access.
  • Reader: User or group has read access only.
  • None: User or group cannot access the folder.

You can use the remove link to remove any user or group from accessing a shared folder; however, only the owner can remove all users and groups from the shared folder list. 

You can also manage folders for a specific user, as described in Manage folder permissions.

All changes made to folders can also be audited using reports. You can run an audit report on particular folders to get details on the various actions users have performed on a specific folder. Please visit Audit reports for details on this report.

Powered by Zendesk