Syncplicity Support

Follow

Folder sharing policies

Outgoing Folder Sharing Policy:
 
This policy can be used to control the sharing of folders with users outside of your organization.This policy can be set from the Admin Console under policies -> Security -> Folder Sharing -> Outgoing Folder Sharing Policy.
 
The following options are available for controlling outgoing folder sharing:
  • All – Sharing is allowed with all external users
  • Specific Domains – Sharing is allowed with defined set of affiliate domains
  • External Domains - Sharing is allowed with defined set of external domains (only visible when a specific domain has been provided)
  • None – External sharing is not allowed
Two additional controls are available for outgoing shared folders to affiliates/external companies which limits participation in outgoing shared folders to SyncDrive only and/or Paid Accounts only to prevent unwanted leakage of company content. Paid accounts can only be EE and BE.
 
All – Sharing is allowed with all external users
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_8.12.17_PM.png
 
Specific Domains – Sharing is allowed with defined set of affiliate domains
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_8.13.04_PM.png
 
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_8.12.52_PM.png
 
 
External Domains - Sharing is allowed with defined set of external domains (only visible when a specific domain has been provided)
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_8.13.20_PM.png
 
None – External sharing is not allowed
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_8.13.35_PM.png
 
Incoming Folder Sharing Policy:
 
This policy can be used to control whether users can receive shared folders from users outside of your organization.This policy can be set from the Admin Console under policies -> Security -> Folder Sharing -> Incoming Folder Sharing Policy.
 
The following options are available for controlling incoming folder sharing:
  • All – Incoming Sharing is allowed from all users
  • Specific Domains – Sharing is allowed with defined set of affiliate domains
  • None – Incoming folder sharing from external users is not allowed
An addition control is available for incoming shared folders from external companies which limits participation in incoming shared folders to read-only (Reader privilege) in order to prevent unwanted leakage of company content.
 
All – Incoming Sharing is allowed from all users
 
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_7.26.33_PM.png
 
 
Specific Domains – Sharing is allowed with defined set of affiliate domains
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_7.26.44_PM.png
 
None – Incoming folder sharing from external users is not allowed
 
Screen_Shot_2017-12-26_at_7.27.04_PM.png
 
Manage Folder Participants Policy:
 
In the Outgoing Folder Sharing policy, if you have allowed company users to share folders outside the organization, this policy can be used to enforce whether the external users can view participants or invite new participants to share your company-owned folders. This policy can be set from the Admin Console under policies -> Security -> Folder Sharing -> Manage Folder Participants Policy.
  • By default, only external participants with editor permissions of a shared folder are allowed to view and invite new participants.
  • Alternatively, you can also allow external users' with reader permissions to view and invite new participants.
  • Or, you can completely disable external participants of a shared folder from viewing or inviting new participants to company owned folders.
 
 

Share Naming Convention Policy:

This policy is primarily used for the folder naming when sharing a folder with other users or groups. The policy allows for adding the owner’s name to the folder being shared for easier identification when similar folder names exist. The policy is applicable only for syncing shared folders in desktop clients. This policy can be set from the Admin Console under policies -> Collaboration -> Sharing -> Share Naming Convention Policy.

  • By default, when users accept a Syncplicity share on their computers, the Syncplicity service appends the share owner's name, in parentheses, to the name of the Syncplicity share. This makes it easier to find folders shared by a given user, but alters the name of the local folder so it no longer matches the name of the Syncplicity share exactly.
  • This policy setting allows you to disable this behavior so the name of the local folder is always the same as the original name of the Syncplicity share.

 

Powered by Zendesk