Syncplicity Support

Follow

Active files retention policy

The active files retention policy assists IT administrators in complying with file retention corporate policies and industry regulations. 

The policy has the following features:

  • Configure a global retention policy that applies to all files in the Syncplicity account.
  • Automatically delete those files that have not been modified after a specific period of time.
  • Optionally, immediately expunge the files when they are deleted. If the files are deleted but not expunged, they can be seen as deleted files and restored.
  • Override the global setting for specific Syncplicity folders.

For example, if the global setting is configured to delete and expunge files after two years, all files that have not been modified in that length of time are deleted and expunged. If a file is never modified during this time, it is deleted and expunged 2 years after it was uploaded to the Syncplicity folder.

To monitor when files are to be deleted, view the Syncplicity active files pending deletion report which lists the active files that are to be deleted in the next 60 days.

Global setting

The global setting of the active file retention policy affects all the files in the Syncplicity account unless explicitly overridden at a specific folder.

To view the active files retention policy global setting, click Admin > settings. In the Manage Settings page, under Data Retention, click the Active files retention link to display the Active files retention page.

You can perform the following tasks in this page:

  • Enable or disable the active files retention policy.
  • Choose to retain the files forever.
  • Delete those files that have not been modified for a specific length of time. Time can be specified as months or years.
  • Permanently expunge the files when deleting the files; otherwise, the files can be viewed as deleted files and restored.

Make sure to click Save to implement your changes.

Folder setting

If the Active files retention policy is enabled, you can specify different retention settings for any Syncplicity folder.

Click admin > folders to open the Manage Folders page then click on the name of the folder you wish to manage.  In the Manage Folder page, click the Retention tab. This tab is not shown if the Active files retention policy is disabled.

You can perform the following tasks in the Retention tab:

  • Use the global setting or override it.
  • Choose to retain the files forever.
  • Delete those files that have not been modified for a specific length of time. Time can be specified as months or years.
  • Permanently expunge the files when deleting the files; otherwise, the files can be viewed as deleted files and restored.

Make sure to click Save to implement your changes.

Powered by Zendesk