Syncplicity Support

Follow

About the admin dashboard

The Syncplicity admin dashboard provides administrators a quick view into the seat and storage consumption for their account as a whole.  The dashboard's storage consumption history chart provides a visualization of how the account's storage has been consumed, and the relationship between the various storage categories, over time.  Administrators can also directly access reports from the dashboard that provide an in depth view into storage and bandwidth consumption by user, and user actions on folders and files.

Admin console dashboard tab

When logged into the Syncplicity account as an administrator you will see the dashboard tab under the web site's admin tab.

 

The dashboard page has 3 main areas:

  • Account summary information
  • Storage consumption history chart
  • Reports access links

Account summary information

At a glance you can see how many of the seats you purchased have been activated, and how much of the total storage you purchased for your account has already been consumed.  If you wish to purchase additional seats or storage click the Add Seats or Add Storage button. You are then guided through a purchasing process.  In this area you can also easily see your account's subscription level, account's owner and the names of the other account administrators.

NOTE: If you have the Syncplicity Data Protection Suite account, the number of seats is always unlimited.

If you have a Syncplicity Enterprise Edition account, and you have configured on-premise StorageVaults, you can also select which StorageVault to view in the dashboard.

 

Storage consumption history chart

The storage consumption history chart provides visibility into how the storage allocated to your account is being consumed over time.  The chart shows how your account's storage was consumed at the end of each day going back in time (based on the time zone associated with your current browser session's locale).  The data displayed for today represents the state of your account's storage consumption within the last couple of hours.  This chart allows you to see storage consumption trends (in the different storage consumption categories) that help you determine:

  1. when to have your users clean up their consumed storage
  2. how to apply previous version and deleted items retention policies
  3. when to purchase additional storage

 

 

If you have a Syncplicity Enterprise Edition account and you have configured on-premise StorageVaults, you can choose which StorageVault to view using the StorageVault selector dropdown.

If your users have not yet started using the Syncplicity account, a message is displayed notifying you that you can monitor your account's storage consumption over time once your users start using the solution.

If your account is less than 30 days old, you can view the chart for the last 10, 20 or 30 days.  After that, you can view the chart for the last 30, 60 or 90 days.

If your storage consumption is less than 50% of your purchased storage, the available storage remaining series is not displayed on the chart so that it is more easily readable.  Once your consumed storage reaches 50% or more of your purchased storage, the available storage remaining series is displayed and allows you to easily see how your account is approaching your purchased storage limit.

Consumed storage falls into three categories:

  • Active files
  • Previous file versions
  • Deleted files

Here is an explanation of each of the three categories:

Storage consumption categories

Explanation

Storage consumed by Active Files

The storage consumed by all the active files in your account.  Active files are the latest versions of all files in Syncplicity folders but excludes previous and deleted versions of these files.

Storage consumed by Previous Versions

The storage consumed by all the previous versions of active files in your account.  Each time a new version of an active file is uploaded to the Syncplicity account, the previously active version of the file is retained.  By default, the 10 most recent previous versions of files are retained forever and all other versions are retained for 30 days, unless one of your account administrators has changed the file versions retention policy.

Storage consumed by Deleted Files

The storage consumed by all the deleted files (including the previous versions of the deleted files) in your account.  All deleted files (including the previous versions of the files) are retained for 30 days, unless one of your account administrators has changed the deleted files retention policy, or the files have been emptied from users' Syncplicity recycle bins.

 

Hovering your mouse pointer over any day in the bar chart displays a detailed breakdown of the actual storage consumption in each of the categories and the percentage of the total purchased storage that each category represents.

Reports access links

This area of the dashboard allows quick, direct access to the various Syncplicity reports that provide administrators visibility into the utilization and activity within their account.  For more information see About Syncplicity reports.  The admin console reports tab provides an alternative way of accessing the same reports.

 

Powered by Zendesk