Syncplicity Support


Viewing a secure shared file

The owner of a PDF or Microsoft Office (Word, PowerPoint or Excel) document may choose to protect the document using the Syncplicity Secure Shared File feature. Once protected, only authorized users can open the document.

You must open the document in the Syncplicity app. When you attempt to open a secure shared file, you may encounter one of these situations:

  • You do not have the updated Syncplicity app installed on your device.
    Update your app.

  • You are not authorized to view the document.
    You are presented with a message and an option to contact the owner. If you believe that you should be authorized, use the contact owner option to provide information on why you require access.

  • You are authorized to view the document.
    The document opens.

When you open a secure shared file, you are presented with the permissions you have for this file. For example:


The permissions include your role, Reader or Editor, and the following:

  • Role: A Reader can view but not edit the document. As an Editor, you can edit the document, although you must edit the document within the Syncplicity app.
  • Print: Displays whether or not you have the permission to print.
  • Copy: Displays whether or not you have the permission to copy content.
  • File Expiration: A protected document can be set to expire, after which the document is no longer accessible. This field displays when, if at all, the document is due to expire.
  • Offline Access: In this case, offline means the Syncplicity app cannot connect to the Syncplicity shared folder. A secure shared file can be allowed or disallowed from being viewed while offline. Furthermore, the secure shared file may be allowed to be viewed for a limited time while offline. This field displays the total number of days that you can access the document while offline. If you see Disabled or Expired, the document cannot be viewed while offline.
  • Location Access: This permission can restrict access depending on the country where you are located. If you see a list of countries and Allowed, you can open the document only when in these countries. If Disallowed, you can open the document only when not in one of the countries listed.

Click Contact Owner if you feel that you do not have the correct permissions for the protected document then enter the information required by the popup window. When completed, the request is sent to the document owner. Make sure you give an explanation for requesting additional permissions.

If you do not wish to see the list of permissions again for this file, enable Don’t show this message again.

NOTE: If File Permissions are disabled in your app settings, the permissions are not displayed. Refer to the App Settings article.


Powered by Zendesk