Syncplicity Support

Follow

Deleted files retention policy

The Syncplicity files and folders selected for deletion are moved to a deleted stage (also known as “deleted items”). The deleted items are automatically retained in the Online Recycle Bin. Users can access the deleted items and choose to restore them or permanently delete them. 

IMPORTANT: Deleted top-level folders cannot be restored. Unlike files and subfolders, deleted top-level folders are not moved to the Online Recycle Bin.

Over a period of time, the deleted files list can grow significantly. To avoid a storage issue, you can define the length of time to retain deleted files before they are permanently deleted automatically. For all new Syncplicity accounts, the default setting is to retain deleted items for 30 days.  Alternatively, you can choose to retain all deleted files forever.

In addition, you can create custom retention policies for specific files and folders in your Syncplicity account. These policies control the length of time specific deleted items are kept in the Recycle Bin before being permanently deleted.

To view the deleted files retention setting, click admin in the console then select settings. In the Manage Settings page, click Delete files retention under the Data Retention section.

You can change the default setting to retain the deleted files forever, retain the files for a different length of time or create an advanced policy by clicking the Create Policy button.

The Retain deleted items forever and the Retain deleted items only for the length of time specified are settings that apply to all files. The Create Policy button allows you to create policies that apply to specific files, giving you more granular control.  You can create a retention policy based on file type, file name, file size, or folder.  

Should you create retention polices, the Retain deleted items forever and Retain deleted items only for the length of time specified settings still apply to all the files not affected by any policy.

Should you change the setting or create a policy, make sure to click Save to implement your changes.

File Type

You can create a policy that applies to file types, which can be Documents, Audio or Video file. You can also specify whether the policy applies to the selected type (select is) or applies to the file types other than the selected type (select is not).

If you apply the policy to a Documents file type, the files with the following extensions are affected: as, bat, c, cmd, cpp, cs, css, doc, docx, dot, dotx, h, htm, html, java, js, mdb, mmap, mny, mpp, msg, odf, odp, ods, odt, one, pdf, php, pl, pps, ppsx, ppt, pptx, ps1, pub, py, qbb, rb, rtf, sxw, t05, t06, t07, t08, t09, t10, tax, txt, vb, vbs, vsd, wdb, wks, wps, xls, xlsx, xml.

If you apply the policy to an Audio file type, the files with the following extensions are affected: aif, au, cda, med, mid, midi, mod, mp3, mpa, ogg, ra, rmi, rmx, rv, s3m, sfx, sid, snd, spc, voc, vvs, wav, wma, xm

If you apply the policy to a Video file type, the files with the following extensions are affected:asf, avi, divx, mov, mpg, mpg4, rm, vob, wmv, xvid

File Name

You can create a policy that applies to specific files by name, using these options:

  • Is: Applies only the file name that you enter.
  • Starts With: Applies only to those file names that begin with the text you enter.
  • Ends With: Applies only to those file names that end with the text you enter.
  • Contains: Applies only to those file names that contain the text you enter.
  • Matches RegEx: Applies to those file names that match the regular expression you enter.

Select the length of time to wait before deleting the files.

File Size

You can create a policy that applies to specific files by size, using these options:

  • Is larger than: Applies to the files that are larger than the size you enter, which can be in KB, MB, and GB.
  • Is smaller than: Applies to the files that are smaller than the size you enter, which can be in KB, MB, and GB.
  • Delete after: Choose the length of time to wait before permanently deleting those deleted files that match the size you specified.

Folder

You can create a policy that applies to files in a specific folder or those folders owned by a specific user, using these options:

  • Is: Select the name of the folder.
  • Was created by: Select the name of the owner.
  • Delete after: Choose the length of time to wait before permanently deleting those deleted files that are within the folders specified.

Priority

Should you create multiple policies, you can specify which policy has the higher priority in a situation where a file or folder is affected by multiple policies. To do this, simply use the Up and Down arrows to move the policies. The policy at the top of the list has the highest priority.

To delete a policy, use the X.

Powered by Zendesk