Syncplicity Support

Follow

About file synchronization on external drives

The Syncplicity desktop client for Windows or Mac allows you to synchronize content between your desktop and your Syncplicity account. However, only the files located in the desktop’s local storage can be synchronized. The Syncplicity desktop client no longer supports syncing files from remote storage locations. These locations include mapped network drives, external storage unc path and removable storage devices such as USB drives.

The Syncplicity client displays an error message when you attempt any of the following:

  • Add folders to your Syncplicity account from any network share or external drive.
  • Attempt to synchronize your personal or shared folder in your Syncplicity account onto a network share or external drive.
  • Attempt to make any remote or external drive path as the default path of your Syncplicity folders.
  • Share content from a remote or external drive.

Upgrading older clients with folders on external drives

Versions of the Syncplicity client prior to 3.4.16 did not prevent synchronizing folders and files from such locations even though it was never supported. Therefore, when upgrading from an earlier version to 3.4.16 or later, any synchronized folders and files in such drives will cease to be synchronized automatically. This is to ensure the consistency and security of data. During this upgrade, no data is ever lost.

At any time, you can go to your Manage Folders (Windows desktop) or to the Folders Menu (Mac desktop) and sync those folders again locally. Alternatively, you can first move the content from external drive to a local location and then sync the content from the Syncplicity account to that location. When prompted for a merge, allow the merge and the folders and files are quickly merged, without syncing them, in the new location.

NOTE: When first installed, the Syncplicity client, by default, selected a local drive location as the default Syncplicity Folders location. You would only need to change the path during the upgrade if you had explicitly selected an external drive as default Syncplicity Folders location. 

During the client upgrade when there is data synced to a remote or local drive, the Syncplicity installer displays the path names to all the folders and files that it unsynchronized. For example:

Your local data is unsynchronized but still on the drive. However, shared folders may be deleted from the drive as a result of the owner’s policy. If this happens, clicking Next or the X icon displays a list of the deleted shared folders.  For example:

In either case, the data remains in the Syncplicity folders and there is no data loss.

Clicking Next prompts you to save the list of files and folders that were unsynchronized so that you can refer to them later.

 

 

Powered by Zendesk