Syncplicity Support

Follow

SyncDrive for Mac users

SyncDrive allows you to mark files and folders as favorites to ensure you can access even when you are offline. SyncDrive is part of Syncplicity version 5.3+ and is available on:

  • OSX 10.11
  • OSX 10.12
  • OSX 10.13

syncdrive_mac_1.png

Where can I find SyncDrive?

SyncDrive is part of the regular Syncplicity desktop. If you are running version 5.3+ of the client, you have SyncDrive.

On Mac, SyncDrive appears as SyncDrive in the finder.

SyncDrive installs alongside the existing Syncplicity folders, which are not affected by the activation of the SyncDrive feature.

As described in this topic, folders must be converted to SyncDrive to be visible to users in their SyncDrive on the desktop.

Converting a folder to SyncDrive

You can convert any of the top-level folders you own to SyncDrive apart from your special folders (that is, Desktop, Documents, Favorites, Pictures and Music). Your company administrator or owners of folders shared with you might already have converted folders, in which case they appear in your SyncDrive.

To convert a folder to SyncDrive:

  1. In the navigation bar, click Files and then select All Files.
  2. Select a folder row and click Settings.
    syncdrive_mac_2.png
  3. Select Allow access to this folder only in SyncDrive on the desktop and click Save.

    Conversion of a folder to SyncDrive unmaps the folder for existing participants who have mapped it locally. Any unsynced changes in participants' mapped folders are lost when the folder is converted to SyncDrive. Users must go to SyncDrive to continue working with their files. Depending on the company policy for remote wipe, the previously mapped file either remains on disk or is removed. Participants receive an email notifying them the access to the folder has been changed and now is available in SyncDrive.
  4. Select Yes to confirm the conversion of the folder to SyncDrive.
  5. Click Yes, CHANGE TO SYNCDRIVE.

The page displays a message that the folder's type was changed successfully.

Converting SyncDrive folder back to a normal folder

To convert the SyncDrive back to a normal folder, follow the preceding steps and deselect Allow access to this folder only in SyncDrive on the desktop.

Adding files and folder to favorites

SyncDrive favorites allow you to specify the files and folders to be in sync with Syncplicity and have available for offline use. You can mark a folder as a favorite, and all files and folders within it are available offline and remain in sync. You also can specify individual files as favorites.

The Storage tab in Syncplicity Settings window shows the storage used by favorite files.

To add as favorite:

  1. Open Windows Explorer and navigate to SyncDrive path. The path displays the folders and files.
  2. Right-click on a folder or file and click Syncplicity > Add to favorites.

The files and folder are downloaded to your local hard disk, and the folder or file overlay icon changes to star sign.

Removing files and folders from favorites

  1. Open Windows File Explorer and navigate to SyncDrive path. The path displays the folders and files.
  2. Right-click on a folder or file and click Syncplicity > Remove from favorites.

Folder icon overlays

The following table describes the Syncplicity folder and file icon overlays in Windows File Explorer.

Folder icon

File icon

Description

folder_green.png 

icon_green_check.png

The green check mark icon overlay indicates all the files and folders are available locally in SyncDrive and synced with Syncplicity.

folder_blue.png 

icon_blue_cloud.png

The blue cloud icon overlay indicates the file is in the Syncplicity cloud and not local or for folders that some or all the files and folders in that folder are in the Syncplicity cloud. These icon overlays are only applicable to SyncDrive and not to locally mapped Syncplicity folders.

folder_orange.png 

icon_orange_sync.png

The orange syncing icon overlay indicates the folder contains files that are syncing with Syncplicity.

folder_human.png 

Not applicable to files.

The green human icon overlay indicates the folder is a shared folder for which the current user is the owner.

Not applicable to folders.

icon_grey_x.png

The grey cross icon overlay indicates the file is offline and cannot be accessed until Syncplicity is back online.

Alternatively, the grey cross icon overlay indicates the file has been excluded from Syncplicity.

Folders do not show any icon overlays when offline or if they are excluded.

folder_star.png 

icon_star.png

The star icon overlay indicates folder is added as a favorite. When a file or folder is removed from favorites the icons of the file or the entire folder's contents change to the cloud icon overlay as the local files are removed from local storage.

Managing your storage

With SyncDrive you have access to all your content without syncing it all to your desktop. SyncDrive provides a view of the storage you are consuming in Syncplicity and on your desktop.

From the My Syncplicity Storage Details screen you can select any of your available storage locations and view the storage totals for active files, old file version, deleted files and remaining available storage.

You can identify the local storage used by the regular Syncplicity folders, SyncDrive favorites and SyncDrive cache. The amount of free space available in your SyncDrive is shown, too. You can control how much disk space your SyncDrive cache can consume on your desktop.

You can clear the SyncDrive cache and favorites from the My Syncplicity Storage Details screen of the Syncplicity Settings. Clearing SyncDrive cache removes all recently used files from disk and frees up disk space.This does not remove any favorite files, which remain available when offline. Clearing SyncDrive favorites removes all favorite files and folders in SyncDrive; files that are cached but not favorites are not be affected. When files and folders are removed from favorites, the local copy is removed.

Creating, copying or moving folders into SyncDrive

Folders can be created, copied or moved into a SyncDrive folder, but you cannot create, copy or move a folder into the root of SyncDrive.

Moving and renaming files and folders inside a SyncDrive folder

You can move or rename the files and folders inside SyncDrive folder, but you cannot move or rename folders across top-level SyncDrive folders. Moving folders within a SyncDrive folder is permitted as long as the participation (sharing) of sub-folder shares is maintained.

Offline behavior

When Syncplicity is offline, SyncDrive provides offline access to your favorite files and recently used files. Files that are not favorites or cached locally are not be available until the connection to Syncplicity is re-established.

Known Issues

  • Merging of folders in Windows explorer due to rename of a folder to an already existing name or moving a folder to destination that has the same name leads to deletion of files from source directory.
  • File overlay icon stay in synchronizing state if download fails for any reason. Opening the file again starts the download and refreshes the overlay icon.
  • Move / Rename of folder/file to a name that is already deleted fails.
  • Search for SyncDrive file brings no result in Finder.
  • Rarely, upgrade may fail. Workaround is to restart the client.
Powered by Zendesk